What about the staff?

As an educator, I have always been taught to be inclusive. From the language I use in emails to address student concerns to the little things like “you all” instead of “you guys”, it has been ingrained in me since before I set foot in a classroom to make sure every student is included. Its why, for example, I start my communications “To the parents/guardians of [student]”.

Tell me why, when it comes to staff, then, does that not apply? In my five years in education, not once have I heard an administrator or fellow colleague remind others that not all staff members enjoy the holidays. Why is it that the assumption is every staff member will go for winter break, be able to celebrate with loved ones and family, to have a relaxing time, and come back refreshed?

I haven’t said anything because it didn’t occur to me until recently. With all the change happening at my workplace and in my personal life, I just pushed forward as I always do. There was one time I made a slight comment about the "Secret Santa” gift exchange we were doing. It irks me because not everyone celebrates Christmas and knowing that our staff tries to be inclusive, why not use “Frosty Friends”?

I brushed it off though because I chose not to participate and I did not plan it. However, what pushed me over the edge was the way the gift exchange was done at the staff luncheon at the end of the semester. Staff that did not participate had to sit through the entire exchange before they were given the option of lunch and then to leave. The luncheon was presented in a way as mandatory for all staff to be present at the beginning of the event, making it seem like there would be business presented first. Once all staff were present, the gift exchange began, making for a really uncomfortable experience for some staff. It was very evident the cliques that came out and the alliances amongst staff members. It was very evident that there is a staff culture issue at our campus.

The hardest part of it though, is the fact that for myself, I had to sit through the entire exchange, uncomfortable already that the holidays are here, knowing that I have a difficult time with celebrations and the exchange of gifts. I do not and have never had positive associations with the holidays and having been alone on the holidays every year for as long as I can remember, break is not something I look forward to.

Thus I ask the question: why do we always encourage our staff to make sure we include and consider all our students and all their circumstances when we don’t do that for our staff? Is this a double standard or simply the weight and burden of being an educator in America today?

Reply

or to participate.